ACI reveals latest airports recognised for commitment to customer experience

Airports Council International (ACI) World has revealed the latest airports it has recognised for their commitment to customer satisfaction through its Airport Customer Experience Accreditation programme.

The accreditation programme is part of ACI’s globally-established Airport Service Quality (ASQ) programme and helps airports improve their practices to provide the traveling public a satisfying experience as they spend time in the airport.

All accredited airports will be recognised during the ASQ Awards gala dinner at the second ACI Customer Experience Global Summit which will be held in partnership with PT Angkasa Pura I (Persero) in Bali, Indonesia, from 2-5 September. PT Angkasa Pura I (Persero) is the first airport operator in the Asia-Pacific region to have a majority of its airports accredited.

The newly accredited airports are:

  • Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport (Mumbai, India)
  • Incheon International Airport (Incheon, South Korea)
  • Pattimura Airport (Maluku, Indonesia)
  • Sams Sepinggan Airport (Balikpapan, Indonesia)
  • I Gusti Ngurah Rai Airport (Denpasar, Indonesia)
  • El Tari Airport (Kupang, Indonesia)
  • Lombok International Airport (Lombok, Indonesia)
  • Sam Ratulangi Airport (Manado, Indonesia)
  • Adi Soemarmo Airport (Surakarta, Indonesia)
  • Ahmad Yani Airport (Semarang, Indonesia)
  • Juanda Airport (Surabaya, Indonesia)
  • Sultan Hasanuddin Airport (Makassar, Indonesia)
  • Kraków Airport (Krakow, Poland)
  • Venice Marco Polo Airport (Venice, Italy)
  • Vienna Airport (Vienna, Austria)
  • Halifax Stanfield International Airport (Halifax, Canada)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (New York, United States)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (Newark, United States)
  • LaGuardia Airport (New York, United States).

The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey is the first airport operator in the United States to have its three largest airports accredited.

Six airports contributed to the development of the programme and have already been accredited: Abu Dhabi International Airport, Milan Malpensa Airport, Hong Kong International Airport, San Antonio International Airport, Sydney Airport, and Quito International Airport.

“By achieving accreditation from ACI, these airports have shown a commitment to continuously reviewing and improving their customer experience and to evolve, excel and learn how they can keep improving,” said ACI World Director General Angela Gittens (pictured above).

“Airports are sophisticated businesses that partner with other organizations to deliver a singular experience for passengers, so it is important that all partners have a common view of this customer experience.

“ACI’s accreditation programme helps airports to develop this common view so they can improve their approach to customer experience management and identify new practices that can be developed in the short and long-term in order to boost satisfaction.

“It is fitting that we will celebrate these airports at our Customer Experience Global Summit in partnership with PT Angkasa Pura I (Persero) as it is the first airport operator in the Asia-Pacific region to have majority of its airports accredited.”

There are five levels of accreditation and each level is a powerful marketing tool for airports to show their commitment to improving customer experience.

At each level, airports are accredited based on their practices in eight domains, which contribute to the evaluation of each airport’s customer experience maturity level. These are: Customer Understanding, Strategy, Measurement, Operational Improvement, Governance, Airport Culture, Service Design/Innovation, and Airport Community Collaboration.